A Day In The Life – Tuesday 13th January 2015

I’ve been meaning to do a detailed write-up of an “average day” for a while, but an average day isn’t actually that common.  So I just decided write up something pretty average, and be done with it.

My alarm went off at 6:45 this morning.  I’d actually been awake, on and off for about an hour already, and had a lovely peaceful doze.  I did ponder setting 2 alarms for the next night, to experience that again, but I probably won’t.

I always get straight up when my alarm goes off.  Why prolong the pain of getting out of a nice warm bed?

I always get the clothes I want to wear out the night before.  Experience has told me that I have more care for assembling a nice, work-appropriate outfit the night before, than I do first thing in the morning.  I have recently taken to putting my clothes on the settee in the lounge the night before, so I can dress while watching the weather forecast on BBC1.

In the week, I have a yoghurt for breakfast.  On the weekends I don’t tend to have anything.  I’m not really a breakfast person, particularly at crack of dawn hours, when my brain is already starting to whir through thoughts for the day ahead.

I leave the flat when the clock on the telly gets to 7:10am.  To school, I carry my handbag and a hessian shopping bag of assorted teachery items.  It takes around 5 minutes to get coat on etc, and down to the car to be driving away.

Depending on how I hit the traffic lights, I arrive at school around 7:40.  I go straight to my classroom, switch my phone to silent, dump bag and coat, turn the computer on and log on, then go and make a coffee in the staffroom.  I am usually in the first 2 or 3 members of staff to arrive.

I will then potter around doing various jobs until around 8:30 when my teaching assistant Shelli arrives.  I will make sure I have what I need for my lessons until lunch time.  Sometimes I’ll catch up with some marking, or do a bit of tidying up.  I might go and have a bit of gossip with Sharon in the next door classroom if I have a bit of time.

Children come in at 8:50, we’ll do the register and then I’ll walk them to assembly.  I sit in there with them on Thursdays and Fridays, but today I kept 3 children back in class to do a gifted and talented writers session.

After assembly, we do our usual morning jobs and children go out to play at 10:20.  Today I missed playtime myself because of a slow child getting changed after PE, but normally I go to the staffroom for a bit of a sit down and adult conversation.

Lunch is at 12pm.  I go straight to the staffroom at 12 to eat.  I only have a small lunch, so I’m usually done by 12:15.  I’ll then head back to the classroom to do jobs.  That is usually prepping things for the afternoon lessons, making sure I have everything I need, and that I know what I’m doing.

Today though, there wasn’t really much to do, so I went back to the staffroom and had a coffee, and sat with Sharon and a few others.  We commented that that was an unusual event for me, yet I enjoyed it, and resolve to do it more often.

Children go out to play again at 2:15 for 10 minutes, but today they had to stay in due to heavy rain.

I then taught phonics to a mixture of children across the 4 year one classes.

When my own class returned, I put a Horrid Henry episode on, until 5 minutes before home time, because they’d been pretty wild today, and I wanted to keep the home time madness to an absolute minimum.

Once the children are gone, I can do a multitude of things.  Usually I’m either marking, or planning lessons.  Supposedly we have staff meetings once a week, but that doesn’t always happen.  Sometimes we have impromptu year group meetings as well.

Ideally, I try to be gone, or about to go home by 5pm.  In my experience of different schools, 5pm is about the average.  Of course, there are always those staff who are bolting out the door at 4pm, and those who stay until the caretaker kicks them out.  At this school, a 5pm exit puts me in the first few to leave, but as I’m in the first few to arrive, that feels about right.

It takes me anything from 20 to 30 minutes to get home.  Traffic is very variable, and often the last stretch of the A45 can be very slow.

Once home I plan the first bit of my evening around what I’m having for tea.  I prefer to eat as quickly as possible, and have usually decided the night before what I’m eating.

However, at the moment I am changing into work-out clothes as soon as I’ve put my things away, to do an exercise routine called the 30 Day Shred, a high-intensity 20 minute session.  I would prefer to do it earlier rather than later in the evening, to get it out of the way.  I am enjoying it though!

I will then eat, either in front of the computer or the telly.  Usually catching up on YouTube subscriptions via either device, or watching an episode of something on Netflix.

I’ll then have computer time, checking Facebook, LiveJournal, Hotmail, Feedly and Pinterest.

At some point I’ll go and either wash up, or assemble lunch for the next day.  I make sandwiches in bulk, and freeze them.  A much quicker process than making them from scratch each day.  I’ll also think about an outfit for the next day.  Since starting work at my current school, I’ve been making more of an effort to break out from the top and trousers combo, and now wear dresses and skirts quite often.  I was told only yesterday that skirts suit me.

I might have a bath or a shower, but don’t every day of the week.  I’m not that dirty.

I’ll usually watch something on the telly in the 9-10pm slot, just to make myself stay up a bit later.  Left to my natural devices, I’d go to bed at 8pm!  This is not good for my mental health as a regular bed time, as I do need to have time to do adult relaxation things in the evening, even if it means I’m a little bit more tired in the mornings.

Telly goes off at 10 always.  Even if there is something good on past then, there are always catch-up options, and that gives me something to watch at the weekend when I have more time.

I’ll then have a wash and brush my teeth.  I have quite a militant skin care routine, because, left to it’s own devices, my skin flakes off and looks awful.  I cleanse and exfoliate, then use a serum, then a moisturiser.  If I have any particularly dry areas that flare up, I’ll use my intensive moisturiser intended for people with dry skin conditions.  I prefer to invest in higher end products for my skin, and do believe they work better than the cheap and cheerful supermarket brands.

I’ll then get into bed and play on my ipad until 10:45 when the light goes off.  I’ll set my alarm for the next day, and put the radio on quietly to fall asleep to, either classic fm, or radio 4.  I program it to turn off after 60 or 90 minutes.

I usually fall asleep quickly, usually within 10 minutes or so I think.  But even if I don’t, I’m quite content to lie there peacefully.  Sometimes, if sleep is particularly evasive, I’ll get up at put Food Network on the telly, and doze in front of that.

