Happy New Year!

Ideally, I would have made this post 3 days ago, but events conspired against me in the form of a computer virus that struck on Monday morning, courtesy of the Jamie Oliver website (thanks for that, Jamie).  Luckily, I wasn’t without internet entirely, as the iPad still works, and I discovered how to keep up with my YouTube subscriptions via my Xbox.  In theory, I COULD have done this on Tuesday or Wednesday, but for all the iPad’s many wonderful qualities, the lack of a real, full-size keyboard makes typing at length rather wearing.

1. What did you do in 2014 that you hadn’t done before?
I went to Liverpool for a 3 night stay over the summer holiday.  I didn’t have tremendously high hopes for the city, but I found myself very much warming to it.  Exactly the right mix of history and modern culture
Really, I’m struggling to think of anything else I did this year that I hadn’t done before…  Although in February I did a photoshoot for Cancer Research UK, and caught my face popping up periodically on their missives.  That was quite fun. 🙂
I also achieved my proudest moment in my teaching history – giving a child a voice, who – quite literally – didn’t have one before.  Hearing her say “this one isn’t mine” about a hairband, of all things, is a sentence that will always stay with me.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year?
I don’t recall actively making any last year.  And if I did, they didn’t last long.  No, strike that, I did have one.  Which sounds ridiculous now, “brush my teeth every day”.  In essence, I was sometimes a bit lazy with that.  Not often, but enough that I decided to change.  I’d make excuses like, “I’m too exhausted to do it”, or “I’m not seeing anyone tomorrow, who cares if my breathe stinks?”  And I did follow it through!  I missed only one night, which I slept over at a friend’s house, and hadn’t gotten in until 3am, and honestly hadn’t given brushing my teeth a single thought.

I have a few for this year :-
– Continue with the weight-loss activities.  I worked quite hard last January to April to lose some weight, and lost a stone over that time.  I then came off the diet for no particular reason, but have managed to maintain the weight loss, and then a bit more.  I am now only about 3/4 pounds off my lowest adult weight.
– Make some effort to become a little fitter.  Even with weight loss, I am still finding that my asthmatic tendencies can be sometimes problematic, and that this stone lost in weight is the balance point between “pretty much okay” and “probably should be medicated”.  I wonder that if my cardiac strength was a little greater, I’d be better still.
– Commit to writing more.  I didn’t participate very seriously in Nanowrimo this year.  I started, but didn’t finish.  Even so, I have 3 reasonably good (I think) story ideas in my head, and I’d like to get the easiest of the 3 down in a vaguely decent form.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope.  Although cousin Diane is close with baby number 2!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?
I was rubbish again this year!  I only managed Wales, and that hardly counts.  I really, really want to get further afield this summer, but my finances just don’t really stretch to it.  Or not without digging into other ear-marked funds.  If I can’t get abroad-abroad this summer, I’d like to give the highlands of Scotland a go.

6. What would you like to have in 2015 that you lacked in 2014?

More money?

7. What dates from 2014 will remain etched upon your memory and why?

27th/28th/29th September were good.  It was the weekend of my 30th birthday, and it was a joy to spend it with my best girls.

8. What was the biggest achievement of the year?
The afore mentioned muteism cure.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Who knows?

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing significant.  The usual cough/cold cycle (2 coughs this year was bad form I thought!).  No conjunctivitis this year though!  Mysteriously injured my left foot over the summer and my dickie right knee gets worse rather than better.  Interestingly though, according to Adele, I’m a prime example of Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome…  And reading up a bit on it, I have many, many, many of the characteristics.  It’s something to consider.

11.What was the best thing you bought?
Oh, absolutely my iPad.  I’d be lost without it now!

12.Whose behaviour merited celebration?
I’d like to nominate work colleagues Sharon and Christi, who have both impressed me in different ways this year.  Also Lisa from my previous school, and Kerri.  And Adele, who always comes up smiling.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Oh, my old head of KS1 and my previous school.  But it was quite hard to be too mad at her, because she was obviously suffering from significant mental health issues.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Rent.

15.What did you get really really excited about?
Seeing Richard Armitage in ‘The Crucible’ from the front row!  Amazing.

16. What song will always remind you of 2014?

‘Run Baby Run’ by ‘We The Kings’.  It was the song of the early summer.

17. Compared to this time last year are you:
a) Happier or sadder – Much the same, on balance.
b) Thinner or fatter – Thinner.
c) Richer or poorer – Much the same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

More actively pursuing long-term goals.
