I try, most days, to catch a news broadcast at some point during the day. Whether that’s as I’m getting ready for work, eating my tea or just about to go to bed.

Anyway, last week, maybe 10 days ago, there was a report discussing (and I think this is the essence of it) customer satisfaction at the doctor’s surgery after they’ve been trialling a phone consultation system, rather than a walk-in system.
During the course of the report, they showed a gentleman talking to the doctor, and then a close-up clip of a doctor struggling to roll up someone’s sleeve to apply a blood pressure cuff.

Fast-forward to last night. They are doing a report about the benefits of daily aspirin for the over-50s. There is the usual generic “medical related” footage, pills in boxes, older people, a doctor’s surgery… Oh, and there’s the doctor struggling to roll up someone’s sleeve to apply a blood pressure cuff.

2 completely un-related reports. Identical footage.

I can totally understand why the BBC have done it, and probably do it quite regularly, I’ve just not noticed before. And people would (perhaps rightly) argue that the reports were “basically about the same thing.”

But it’s like me, say, showing footage of a teacher doing their thing in a classroom, in a report about the latest government wheeze on falling standards… And then a week later using the same footage to report on the nutritional value of school dinners.
I guess you could argue they are talking about the same things (there’s a tenuous link to education in both)… Except they’re not.

A Beeb fail.